top of page

The Testament of Gideon Mack

For this project we had to pick from a list of books and create an illustration for it. I chose The Testament of Gideon Mack. This is a story about a priest who is secretly atheist who falls down a hole and meets the Devil. Gideon and the Devil get on and Gideon ends up writing a testament and disappearing to go find the Devil again. I decided to illustrate a scene from the book in which Gideon and the Devil are in the Devil's house drinking and conversing. As I was keen to experiment with some Lino printing I decided to create a Lino print of the different layers of soil to illustrate that the Devil's home was situated underground. I really enjoyed the Lino printing and began to experiment printing on to different fabrics and carving different Lino cuts. After a photoshoot in which I projected these prints on to a body I went on to create some clothing designs and also used them to up-cycle some clothing.

bottom of page